Becoming more Fundamental

The net effect of my deliverance experience (https://confessionsofayec.wordpress.com/2011/03/28/the-dramatic-deliverance/) was a greater level of fundamentalism.

Coupled with my creationist beliefs, the experience cemented in my mind that the Bible was not only true, it was absolutely and literally true. That meant not just a literal 7-day creation but also the physical hell, the rapture and everything in-between.

My fundamentalism went even further than that though. It went on to avoiding certain ‘unchristian’ things and actively embracing ‘Christian’ things. One example was, on seeing a popular artist of the time by the name of Enya labelled as New Age, all music of hers was avoided. When a fellow Christian was spotted with her music they were told they should not be listening to her.

My own music collection was scrutinised, though I don’t recall throwing anything away. I did however start purchasing far more Christian music, not in itself a bad or unhealthy act, but it was an indication of the obsessive fundamentalist mindset that was brewing.

By book collection was pared down, books like Gremlins (the book of the humorous Christmas movie by the same name) and an entire series of fantasy novels were consigned to the bin. Yet somehow fantasy from a Christian author was okay. Why should something be better or okay just because a Christian produces it?

My clothes changed too. At the time there was a Christian T shirt maker in the UK who sold many different Christian designs and slogans and I’d typically choose to wear them unashamedly when out and about.

Its easy to laugh about it now and its easy to feel saddened when the same things are witnessed in other people. Yet, when its you it all seems so normal and natural and you wonder why no one else sees it the way you do.

I must have been quite infuriating to be with at times.

 

6 thoughts on “Becoming more Fundamental

    • Hi D’Ma

      For many years I was convinced that the uniqueness of my experiences meant that the assumed existence of God was real. Its only now that, having shed that, I am realising that they were not so unique after all. Yes some specifics might be unique, like the deliverance, but the overall theme is not unique.

      For such a long time I was under the impression that very few people left Christianity. Now that I’ve actually looked, there are stacks of them. Even some who’ve got stories that I can identify with, and vice versa.

  1. Pingback: Inherently Violent | Unsettled Christianity

  2. Pingback: Inherently Violent | churchministrynews.com

Leave a Reply

